Distinguished Alumni

The Texarkana Arkansas School District is accepting nominations for Distinguished Alumni for the 2019-2020 school year. Nominations will be accepted through Friday, February 21. Nominees must be recognized for outstanding contribution in business, professional, or vocational endeavors. They must be of high moral character and integrity, and recognize and support public education. Finally, nominees must be graduates of Arkansas High School, Booker T. Washington High School, or North Heights High School.

Past recipients of the award include Representative Carol Dalby, Dr. Marcus Orr, Mr. Rod Smith, Judge Joe Griffin, Mayor Horace Shipp, Lt. Col. Deloise Gamble, Mrs. Emer Pondexter, Mrs. LeAnne Wright, Mrs. Remica Gray, and Dr. Teretha Harper. The award, started by the Class of 1984, has been given to more than 45 former students over the past 24 years.
Nomination forms are available online at www.tasd7.net or at the TASD Administration office at 3435 Jefferson Avenue, Texarkana, Arkansas.
For more information, contact Dena Youngblood at 870-772-3371 ext. 1016.

Distinguished Alumni Nomination form 2020.pdf

Carol Dalby

The Texarkana Arkansas School District celebrated Representative Carol Dalby as the 2018-2019 Arkansas High School Distinguished Alumna. Representative Dalby is a graduate of Arkansas High School and a lifelong resident of Texarkana, Arkansas. Upon graduation, Representative Dalby received her Bachelor of Science in Education from Ouachita Baptist University. She received her Master of Science from Texarkana A&M University – Texarkana, and went on to obtain a Juris Doctorate from the University of Arkansas School of Law.

In 2016, Dalby was elected to the Arkansas House of Representative. She is serving her second term in the Arkansas House of Representatives where she represents District 1, which includes Texarkana and a portion of Miller County. For the 92nd General Assembly; Representative Dalby serves as Chair on the House Judiciary Committee; the House City, County, and Local Affairs Committee; House Rules Committee; Girls’ State; Arkansas Legislative Institute; Arkansas Legislative Council (alternate); Legislative Joint Audit (alternate); Speakers appointee - Alternate Courts Advisory Committee; I-49 Caucus; and Arts Economic Bi-Partisan Committee, just to name a few.

Representative Dalby served as a past president on the Texarkana Arkansas School District Board of Directors. She also served as President or Chairperson on other boards and commissions which include the University of Arkansas Alumni Association Board of Directors; Opportunities, Inc.; Texarkana Resources for the Disabled; Texarkana Chapter of the Red Cross; Texarkana Library Commission; and Women for the Arts.

Representative Dalby is a founding member of Arkansas of Women for Education and currently serves on the Women for Texas A&M, Texarkana Regional Center on Aging, and Texarkana Friends of UAMS boards.

Representative Dalby is a member of the First United Methodist Church where she teaches Sunday School. She has two grown children, Robert and Caroline, and lives in Texarkana with her husband, John.


1984-85 Dr. Marcus Wayne Orr 2000-01 Lydia G. McAlister
1985-86 Mott Mosley Eva M. McGee
Dr. Charles Oxford 2001-02 Lt. Col. Lee C. (Wade) 
1986-87 Brigadier General  Gamble, Ret.
Richard E. Hearn Lt. Col. Delois Gamble
1987-88 Dr. Betty Walker Morris 2002-03  Dr. Carl “Cheesie” Nelson
1988-89 Jack Allen David Pope
1989-90 Arthur Temple Lewis Thompson
Josephine Beck 2003-04 Judge Susan Webber Wright
1990-91 Willie Davis 2004-05 Mark Wilson
1991-92 Dr. Lurry Leavelle 2005-06 Ermer Pondexter
1992-93 Mike Cherry Dr. Jerry Shipp
Roy J. “Doc” Walker, Jr. 2006-07 David Haak
1993-94 Dr. George Poulos 2007-08 Mayor Horace Shipp
Dr. Earnest Poulos 2008-09 Ed Arnold
1994-95 T. L. “Thom” Holmes 2009-10 Dr. Teretha Harper
1995-96 Dr. Linda C. Cork 2010-11  Bill Lavender
1996-97 Nathan Jones, Sr. 2011-12  LeAnne  Wright
I. Donald Nelson 2012-13  Steve Douglas
1997-98 Bob J. Nash 2013-14  Judge Joe Griffin
1998-99 J. W. Evers 2014-15 Judge Carlton Jones
Alex Sanderson, Jr. 2015-16  Roderick 'Rod' Smith
1999-00 Dr. Emmet Cox II 2016-17  Senator Jimmy Hickey, Jr. 
Hayes McClerkin
2017-18  Remica Gray